Main research and discovery areas:

Bioinformatics

Pattern recognition

 




Bioinformatics

Bioinformatics is the key competence of our company.

Bioinformatics implies solving the complicated tasks on modeling live systems, new knowledge mining and development of the program complexes filled with intellectual algorithms.

Our team successfully solves tasks in bioinformatics since 2003. This includes next-generation sequencing data processing, microarray analysis, promoter analysis and classification, prediction of transcription factors (TF) binding sites, miRNA and ncRNA data analysis, spatial structure of RNA and proteins prediction, gene networks and cellular signals transduction modeling.

By the present moment it has been accumulated experience in solving various applied and theoretical tasks in bioinformatics using both own and the borrowed algorithms in the field of signal processing and signal search, tools for knowledge mining, modeling of physical and chemical characteristics of molecules and organisms, solutions for systems of the differential equations.

Cooperation with scientific research institutes of the Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Science and University is a source of fresh ideas while cooperation with experimenters of the USA and Germany, suppliers of the advanced up-to-date databases, allows to be well informed about the latest achievements of a science and technology.

 

Our bioinformatic projects

Deep Sequencing Data Management system (property of St.Laurent Institute, USA) – system of programs, databases and scripts for next-generation sequencing data alignment, digital gene expression analysis, alternative splicing and RNA editing events detection, since 2010.

Some graphical modules for Pathway Studio software (property of Ariadne Genomics Inc.), since 2010.

Libraries of genes and proteins interactome for some species (property of Ariadne Genomics Inc.), 2010-2011.

Software package ExPlain (property of BIOBASE GmbH) for processing the genetic information and search of key molecules-targets with the purpose of development of new medical products, since 2003.

The ExPlain is an online product integrating databases and the newest algorithms. Using ExPlain, you can explore and understand:

• Biological interpretation of the large-scale data: gene expression microarrays, proteomics data, ChIP-on-chip;
• Statistical data analysis, graphical interpretation;
• Functional classifications according to GO terms, diseases terms, tissue/organ expression, and signaling pathways;
• Mapping of putative transcription factor binding sites on gene promoters;
•Construction of promoter modules which are combinations of individual binding sites. CMAs can suggest transcription factors involved in the combined regulation of genes showing similar expression patterns in microarray experiments;
• Identification of Key Molecules upstream of these promoter modules that might be responsible for the coordinated regulation of your genes and thus become future targets for experimental study;

Computer simulation of C. Elegans muscular system and neural network, since 2005

C. Elegans, free-living soil nematode, is one of the model organisms, widely used and extensively studied by biologists. It is the only organism for which neural network architecture – positions of its neurons and connections between them - is almost completely known. Its nervous system consists of 302 neurons, over 5000 synapses, more than 2000 neuromuscular junctions and these elements are invariant for individuals of the same sex. Simulation of C. Elegans nervous system seem to be one of the most actual and necessary task. Small size of neural network will allow us to make calculations in reasonable time using modern computers. Besides the model of the nervous system model, it is very important to develop the model of organism's body including muscles and receptors in three dimensional physical environment, which will provide sensory input and feedback to the working nervous system and allow to observe organism's behavior.

At the present moment 3D-simulator of C. Elegans muscular system has been realized, which includes, as a real muscular system, 4 longitudinal groups of muscles, which can be affected by signals from motoneurons of the nervous system. For calculations of dynamical physical model we take into account the supporting force, the friction force, the muscle tension, gravity and the resistance of medium. Also the C++ classes for loading and simulating given neural network are realized. Also now we have released a special mode for neural network visualization, which allow to select neurons in 3D scene to display information about them, such as name, incoming connections from other neurons and axon and its branches, leading to other neurons.

We plan to add more functionality, which will allow edit neuron and dendrites properties, such as their weights and threshold values.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sNdd5xLEFmc&feature=related

SLI environment (property of St.Laurent Institute, USA) – a web based application integrating algorithms, pipelines and user ncRNA data for complex analysis, since 2008.

Development of Software and Algorithms for ncRNA data analysis in cooperation with St.Laurent Institute, USA and Georges Washington University, USA, since 2007.

C. Elegans genome mutations recognition (property of Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation), 2005-2006.

In 2005-2006 a small project on recognition of mutations in Celegans genome was done in collaboration with Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation. Given a small fragment of genome. The software should determine the mutations: deletions, insertions, substitutions. Mutations average lenghts are around 100 bp. On the base of wu-blast we implemented a program that determine positions of given mutations. Also program determines different properties and database matches.


Novel Software Systems is founded on the basis of A.P. Ershov Institute of Informatics Systems and keeps in touch with laboratories in scientific field.

Siberian branch of Russian Academy of Science

Technopark of Novosibirsk Akademgorodok

2006-2016 © Novel Software Systems Company. All Rights Reserved.

Биоинформатика

Биоинформатика является ключевой компетенцией компании "Новые Программные Системы".

Биоинформатика подразумевает решение сложных задач моделирования живых систем, поиск новых знаний и создание комплексов программ, начиненных интеллектуальными алгоритмами.

Компания успешно решает задачи биоинформатики с 2003 года. Среди них обработка данных секвенирования ДНК и РНК нового поколения, анализ микрочиповых данных, анализ и классификация промоторов, предсказание сайтов связывания транскрипционных факторов (ТФ), анализ данных микроРНК и некодирующих РНК, предсказание пространственной структуры РНК и белков, моделирование генных сетей и передачи сигналов в клетке.

Компания имеет опыт решения различных прикладных и теоретических задач биоинформатики с использованием как собственных, так и заимствованных алгоритмов в области обработки и поиска сигналов, средств обнаружения знаний, моделирования физико-химических свойств молекул и организмов, решения систем дифференциальных уравнений.

Сотрудничество с научными институтами СО РАН и Университетом служит источником свежих идей, в то время как сотрудничество с экспериментаторами США и Германии, поставщиками самых современных баз данных позволяет быть в курсе последних достижений науки и технологии.

Наши проекты в области биоинформатики

Система управления данными глубокого секвенирования (deep-sequencing) (собственность St.Laurent Institute, США) – система программ и баз данных для выравнивания данных секвенирования нового поколения, анализа цифровой экспрессии генов, выявления альтернативного сплайсинга и результатов редактирования РНК, с 2010 года.

Графические модули для программного обеспечения Pathway Studio (собственность Ariadne Genomics Inc.), с 2010 года.

Библиотеки интерактомов генов и белков для некоторых видов организмов (собственность Ariadne Genomics Inc.), 2010-2011 гг.

Пакет программного обеспечения ExPlain (собственность BIOBASE GmbH) для обработки генетической информации и поиска ключевых молекул-мишеней с целью разработки новых медицинских продуктов, с 2003 года.

Система анализа данных ExPlain — это интерактивное веб-приложение, объединяющее базы данных и новейшие алгоритмы. Использование ExPlain облегчает:

Биологическую интерпретацию экспериментов: микроарреи, данные протеомики, ChIP-on-chip
• Статистический анализ данных, графические представления
• Функциональную классификацию по известным онтологиям: Gene Ontology, термины заболеваний, эксперессия в органах/тканях, сигнальные пути
• Поиск предполагаемых сайтов связывания транскрипционных факторов на промоторах генов
• Построение модели регуляторного комплекса, включающей в себя набор транскрипционных факторов и характер их взаимодействия
• Поиск в сигнальных путях ключевых молекул - возможных мишеней для лекарств

Компьютерное моделирование нервной и мышечной систем нематоды C. Elegans, с 2005 года.

C. Elegans, свободно живущая в почве нематода, является одним из модельных организмов, который широко используются и хорошо изучен биологами. C. Elegans, свободно живущая в почве нематода, является одним из модельных организмов, который широко используются и хорошо изучен биологами. Это единственный организм, для которого почти полностью известна архитектура нейронной сети ( позиции нейронов и связей между ними). Нервная система C. Elegans состоит из 302 нейронов, более 5000 синапсов, более 2000 нервно-мышечных узлов и эти элементы являются неизменными для особей одного пола. Моделирование нервной системы C. Elegans, является весьма актуальной задачей. Малый размер нейронной сети позволяет производить расчеты в разумные сроки с использованием современных компьютеров. Кроме того, модель нервной системы очень важно разрабатывать с учетом модели тела организма, в том числе мышц и рецепторов в трехмерном пространстве физической среды, которая будет обеспечивать приток сенсорной информации и обратную связь работающей нервной системы, что позволит наблюдать за поведением организма.

На данный момент реализован 3D-симулятор мышечной системы С. Elegans, в которой, по аналогии с реальной мышечной системой организма, имеется четыре продольных группы мышц, которые могут воспринимат сигналы от мотонейронов нервной системы. Система дифференциальных уравнений, описывающая систему, численно решается на каждом шаге, учитывая гравитацию, трение, реакцию опоры от поверхности, сокращения мышц и т.д. Также реализуются C++ классы для загрузки и моделирования данной нейронной сети. Кроме того, теперь реализован специальный режим для визуализации нейронной сети, которая позволяет выбрать нейроны для 3D-визуализации для отображения информации о них, такой как название, связи с другими нейронами.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sNdd5xLEFmc&feature=related

SLI environment (собственность St.Laurent Institute, США) – веб-ориентированное приложение интегрирующее алгоритмы, источники информации и данные пользователя о некодирующих РНК для комплексного анализа, с 2008 года.

Разработка программного обеспечения и алгоритмов для анализа данных о некодирующих РНК совместно с St.Laurent Institute, США и Georges Washington University, США, с 2007 года.

Выявление мутаций в геноме C. Elegans (собственность Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation, США), 2005-2006.

В 2005-2006 годах был реализован небольшой проект по распознаванию мутаций в геноме C. Elegans совместно с Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation. По заданному небольшому фрагменту генома было необходимо автоматически определить наличие в нем различных мутаций: удалений, вставок, замен. Эти мутации в среднем имели размер 10-100 нуклеотидов. На базе wu-blast была реализована программа по определению данных мутаций, а так же определению различных свойств.


Компания "Новые Программные Системы" создана на базе Института систем информатики им. А.П. Ершова СО РАН (ИСИ СО РАН) и поддерживает тесный контакт с сотрудниками института.

 

Сибирское отделение Российской Академии Наук

Технопарк Новосибирского Академгородка

2006-2016 © Novel Software Systems Company. All Rights Reserved.